Top 4 Free Coding Resources for Students

Top 4 Free Coding Resources for Students

Free coding resources allow you to try out professional tools and services

As a student, free coding resources allow you to try out professional tools and services that you otherwise would have to pay for. Fortunately, there are companies that realize the value of allowing students to try their services for free. If you're a student, use this opportunity to get your hands on some quality resources!

(I am not affiliated, associated, authorized, endorsed by, or in any way officially connected with any of these companies)

Free Coding Resources for Students

GitHub Student Developer Pack

This is most likely the best free coding resource for a student you'll find. You'll get access to a TON of services, subscriptions, and credits. Get a free domain, experiment with a cloud provider, free premium courses, and a lot more. For example:

  • 1-year domain name registration on the .me TLD (Namecheap)
  • $100 in platform credit for new users (DigitalOcean)
  • 12-month subscription of Canva's Pro tier (Canva)
  • Access to 25+ Microsoft Azure cloud services plus $100 in Azure credit (Microsoft Azure)
  • 6-months access to all courses and workshops (FrontendMasters)
  • And more!

GitHub's Octocat

I used this when I was a student to deploy a website with my own domain. And to get access to a bunch of awesome courses. I learned a lot, which helped me get a job at Spotify.

JetBrains Free Educational License

JetBrains is the company behind the popular IDEAs: IntelliJ, WebStorm, PyCharm, and more. As a student (or teacher) you get access to the professional versions.

JetBrains Logo

Personally, these are my favorite IDEAs and what I use in my day-to-day. When I was a student, I tried a few IDEAs but JetBrains products are simply the best, in my opinion. I won't go into why, but I do recommend you pick up a license.

Heroku

Heroku is a platform to deploy your applications. You can for example deploy a website or a backend service. Additionally, Heroku allows you to attach resources such as a database, monitoring, and more. They provide step-by-step guides which makes it easy.

Heroku Logo

Most of these resources can be used with the free hobby tier, which makes it perfect for personal projects. I've used Heroku for many years. It's my go-to service to deploy personal projects and make them available on the web.

The free hobby tier is not specific for students, anyone can use it!

Unity Student Plan

Is game development more your kind of thing? Then you should check out the Unity Student Plan. Unity is a cross-platform game engine that was used for games such as Overcooked, Disco Elysium, Hollow Knight, and more. I mean, just look at this list!

Unity Logo

The gaming industry is growing, fast! And that comes with a growing need for game developers. Getting experience with an application like Unity will make it easy to find your first job.

Conclusion

These are my top four free coding resources for students. I remember discovering these when I was a student and found it quite amazing they are all free. If you're a student, be sure to check them out. This is an opportunity to experiment with tools and services that professionals use.


Connect with me on Twitter, LinkedIn, or GitHub

Originally published at prplcode.dev

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Simon Egersand 🎈 by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!